C-04 Waste classification

Aspect C-04 Waste classification
How should output wastes be classified: as e.g. inert, non-hazardous, hazardous?

related study objective

stand-alone LCA comparative assertion

related study phase

goal and scope definition inventory analysis (LCI) impact assessment (LCIA) interpretation reporting

relevant for

new buildings existing buildings construction products screening LCA simplified LCA complete LCA
Provisions The model should reflect the real situation. The classification into three types – hazardous, non-hazardous and inert waste – should be performed according to article 4 of the Landfill Waste Directive 1999/31.This aspect is likely to be predefined in every national EPD programme scheme, and may be adopted within product LCA studies that are made within the same context.
Rules from:

EN 15804 End-of-life stage
6.3.8 Developing product scenarios7.2.5 Other environmental information describing different waste categories and output flows
7.3 Scenarios and additional technical information
7.3.4 End of life
Current practice should be used for scenarios. Specific models for waste treatment may be relevant for particular materials, to take account of emissions, or of the amount of energy recovery. EN 15804 requires that the total amounts of inert, non-hazardous and hazardous waste, measured at the system boundary, be reported. All waste covered by the Waste Framework Directive should be classified within the European Waste Classification system, and it should be possible to report these figures.

Comments are closed.